Slimming World

Nikki’s Slimming World Journey

My most recent journey began on 21st November 2016. I’ve rejoined so many times I’ve lost count. This time felt different. Before I had always struggled, and although I have this time too, I’ve not lost my determination. My need to loose weight has not got any less, though the thought and my plan to do so has changed. I’ve always felt so guilty in the past if I put one weight,as I know its only me who can control what happens.
On this journey I have allowed myself to enjoy meals out with family and friends. I have made the best choices where possible and let myself enjoy a pudding or a few drinks if I have felt like it. Which I have, too much of the time!
This journey has been made up of 23 weigh in results. Which has seen 13 losses, one maintain and 9 gains!! I would like to say i’m okay with that, but it’d be a lie. I don’t want to be having any gains, at the same time, I don’t want to restrict myself when I go out.
I just want to be able to eat all of what I want and drink copious amount of bubbly and still loose weight, surely its not too much to ask!!!
I decided to rejoin group before christmas to do a bit of damage limitation. Basically, I wanted to loose weight before christmas so that I could put some back on over the festive period and not have a horrific starting weight come January. I was successful in a way, comparing my starting weight to my weight on my first weigh in of 2017 I was 1 pound up. Since the 21st November I have lost 1 stone and 3 pounds to date. When ever I have been on slimming world, I have always set myself a rule that I am ”happy” so long as it always averages that I have lost at least half a pound a week. I am just about sticking to that rule!! I’m not happy, obviously i’m not, but i’m still attending group and where possible still sticking to plan. My theory is that if I did not to go group each week, weigh people in for my consultant and sit through the valuable image therapy, I would be a lot worse off! Its the small things that make you realise you are following the plan. I’ve always been brought up to finish the food on my plate, not any more!! I’m starting to leave food, if I feel full. I’m listening to my body and I feel so much better for it. Slimming World isn’t a diet, its a way of life, all about balance. For me that means one day leaving food on my plate and other days finishing my plate and seconds! If I like it i’m going to eat it, all of it and more!
Why am I doing slimming world? For myself most definitely. Also for my future, my husband, family and friends. I don’t want to be getting ready for a night out with the girls and find myself staring at my wardrobe with nothing to wear. I’m sick of having panic attacks and feeling anxious about going out. The thought of people looking at me petrified me. Deep down I know they weren’t looking at me, they were looking through me or probably past me. Though in that moment, everyone is looking at me, getting the people who are with them to look at me too!

I’m beginning to feel more confident, my clothes are fitting better. I know that I can go into most shops and pick up a size 14 and it’ll fit me. I no longer look in the mirror and hate what I see. Which is a bonus, as being a hairdresser, i’m forever looking in the mirror. Usually at my clients hair mind you, occasionally I catch a glimpse of myself and adjust my hair or outfit! Don’t get me wrong, i’m not saying I love what I see now. Far from it, but I don’t mind how the person staring back at me looks any more.

What’s my target?! No idea. I’m unsure if it will be a weight I see on the scales or how I feel and look. I think I will just know when I get there! I’m excited to get there and get to the half way point of this journey! Why the half way point of the journey?? Slimming World is a lifestyle not a faddy diet. My half way point will be reaching my target, the rest of my journey will be made up of maintaining said target!

 

This has been a bit of a long blog, especially for those reading (if any one is!!??) I’m not going to apologise for it being so. This blog page is for me to get everything out and ramble on, so I can look back in years to come ( hopefully at target!!!!!) I’ll leave this one here, and will update or write a new one when the time suits.

Thanks for reading, speak soon.

xXx

One thought on “Nikki’s Slimming World Journey

Leave a Reply

